Idol Thoughts: The Finale

Last night Kree Harrison and Candice Glover sang their hearts out in the finale of American Idol. Who did you vote for?

Having never managed to watch Idol live, I haven’t been able to vote this season, but I seem to be in agreement with America this year, finding two of my very favorites in the Top Two once again. What an amazing choice we have been given – both Kree and Candice are amazingly talented in two very different ways, so the winner tonight will largely come down to personal preference and chance and they kind of can’t go wrong.

Here are my thoughts on their performances last night:

Kree Harrison opened the show with “Angel” by Sarah McLachlan – it was beautiful and poised, but I will agree with Randy that it was a tad sleepy for a finale performance. That’s Simon Fuller’s fault though, as he picked the songs for round one. She did an amazing job though, as always. In round two she sang the song that will be her first single if she wins. Will “All Cried Out” be the new “Home”? It was a beautiful country ballad that moved me, but I think Candice’s single was a little better. More on that soon. In round three Kree reprised the song  “Up to the Mountain” by Patty Griffin – this one was slightly more upbeat and still very much a Kree kind of song – overall, she did a great job and would be a sure win without a doubt if not for her stiff competition.

Candice Glover gave three VERY powerful performances. She is that amazingly strong voice that is capable of shutting down a room with one note. Where Kree is known for her quieter moments and poise, Candice is known for that BIG voice. This has never been a problem for Kree until now when the two find themselves singing back to back consistently. It’s not that Kree didn’t do an amazing job, it’s that Candice consistently made my jaw drop last night. Admittedly, her first song, “Chasing Pavements” by Adele was a slightly rough start for me, she really picked it up in the middle and took it to a new place. Her potential single, “I am Beautiful” moved everyone. The truth is, it’s a more powerful and moving song than what Kree was given – I’m not sure if that was intentional or not, but Candice sang the heck out of it as she is wont to do – but still I think at the end of round two they were still pretty neck in neck. Then in round three Kree sang beautifully and it was amazing and then Candice came out and basically ripped that stage apart with another rendition of “I (Who Have Nothing”) by Ben E. King that gave me goosebumps or as Nikki would say, “it gave me everything.” It was so clearly the best performance of the night, if not the season.

So – given all of that, if I had voted last night, I think I would have voted for Candice. I’m still such a huge fan of both girls and I hope and pray that their careers go far so that I can continue to enjoy their music, but after round three I think Candice suddenly shot up to another level officially. She basically threw down the gauntlet at a moment where it was too late for Kree to retaliate. We’ll see if America agrees with me and honestly – whomever they pick, I will be exceedingly happy for them. There are no losers at this point – history has proven that both girls are likely to get a recording contract out of this.

Who did you (or would you) vote for?

Who do you think should be the next American Idol?

What do YOU think? Leave me a comment below.

