Idol Thoughts: The Final Four


Source: americanidol.com via Jennifer on Pinterest

It’s down to the Final Four on American Idol and I’m in a pretty sweet position of having my three favorites within that four, making my odds for loving the winner pretty high. Though my favorite performances for each week have varied, I have consistently adored Angie, Kree & Candice from the beginning and I’m so proud of America for agreeing with me and exemplifying good taste. Here are my thoughts on last night’s performances by the Final Four in order by fave of the night to least favorite.

Angie Miller seemed to be the judges favorite of the night and though I love to disagree with them almost as much as Jimmy Iovine, I think she definitely had the better performances this week or at least the most current and relevant ones. I like a good classic song as much as the next girl, but a lot of the performances last night felt as dated as they are and that’s not a compliment. I loved her rendition of Jessie J’s “Who You Are,” where she was rocking out at the piano like the judges have been begging her to. She definitely seems at home at the piano and returning to it paid off in spades. Her second round performance of Julie London’s 1955 hit “Cry Me a River” wasn’t quite as good as her first round, but she sounded beautiful and still rose above some of the other girls.

Kree Harrison got a lot of slack last night for not emoting enough and not giving enough swagger perhaps? It saddens me that in this competition that’s so important, sometimes above the singing. I don’t care if Amber Holcomb looks like she could kick your ass while singing in a falsetto, Kree could out sing her any day but the judges don’t seem to care about that. As we get closer to the finale, it’s pretty obvious who their favorite is and it shows in their masked feedback. I for one really enjoyed both of Kree’s performances. Were they shut the front door amazing and filled with theatrical moments? No, but they were damned good and definitely in the Top Two of the night.

Candice Glover has a beautiful voice and I have adored her in weeks past but she was outshone last night. Her song choices felt dated even when she was singing a reworked version of Drake’s “Find Your Love.” Did she sound nice? Yes. Did she put me to sleep a little? Yes. Her round two performance of Samantha Sang/Bee Gees hit “Emotion” was a better choice in so far as it was more entertaining – but it felt safe to me and again, dated. Speaking of girls who can sing their butts off, Candice has such amazing talent but it was overshadowed this week by poor song choices.

Amber Holcomb is obviously the judges favorite and if you’ve been following my blog, obviously my least favorite. I don’t think I would mind her so much if the judges weren’t so obsessed with her and so willing to overlook her short comings. I found her round one performance of Celine Dion’s “Power of Love” to be boring and felt old fashioned which is ridiculous because it’s Celine freaking Dion. Then in round two she sang Donna Summer / Richard Harris’ “MacArthur Park” and it was so boring and blah that I fast forwarded to the feedback where the judges talked an awful lot about how much they liked her dress and her confidence and not much else. What the hell? You can rip Kree and Candice a new one for dated song choices or a little lack of theatrics but when Amber sings the world’ dumbest song and not that well, you just tell her she’s pretty? Give me a break guys.

I’ll be interested to see what America thinks of our Final Four – will Amber continue to get low votes from America and be sent on her way? Will they be swayed by lame judges and send home Kree or Candice? Will they skip eliminations all together in an attempt to manipulate the outcome of the show? I guess we’ll find out tonight.

Who would you send home? Who do you think is #inittowinit?

How many American Idol judges will have a job again next season?

What do YOU think? Leave me a comment below.

