Momma Loves A Good Series: The Next Installments I’m Most Coveting

I am a sucker for a great series, have been since I was a tweenager devouring every Baby Sitters Club book I could get my hands on. Typically I like to devour a good series from start to finish but these days I find myself buried in the middle of several great series style books, anxiously awaiting the next book’s release or release in paperback because I attempt to be thrifty and patient… Key word attempt. Here are some of the books I am anxiously waiting to get my hands on right now…

I think the third book in the Divergent series might be the book I’m most anxiously waiting for which is unfortunate because not only has it not been released yet, it doesn’t even have a title yet. Unless Divergent 3 actually IS the title at least… Anyone else obsessed with this YA dystopian book? This is one of my favorite genres and of all the YA dystopian books out there (and there are a lot) this is one of the better ones. I love the idea of the society in Divergent with all the different factions of society and the bomb shell at the end of book two has me pretty wound up to read book three already!

Pandemonium is book two in the Delirium series by Lauren Oliver. Probably the only reason I don’t own this one yet is simply because I own too many books already and at some point my husband puts his foot down and tells me to stop it already and read the books I already have. Another YA dystopian series, this one is … pretty good. I think my only beef with this series that it revolves much more heavily around the love story and I know that book two is going to be something of a giant bummer. But the concept of this society which has deemed love a disease… it’s pretty cool. And at some point I’ll stop licking my wounds and start harassing my husband about this book.

Yes, yes, another YA dystopian series. They are my crack. Reached is Book three in the Matched series by Ally Condy, where society takes all the messy guess work out of love and matches you with your best potential mate. There is a nice little love triangle going on right now that I’m hoping will be further explored in book three. The love story did get a bit eye rolly in book two but I sense good things to come in the next installment.

So if the books above there don’t make me look a little oddly childish in my book choices, this one will certainly seal the deal. The Mother Daughter Book Club books by Heather Vogel Frederick are geared towards the tween set mostly, but I think a lot of us moms are reading this series. I love all of the literary connections and as a mom, I find this series to be an awesome choice for young girls with a lot of great role models that girls will be able to relate to and aspire to. I always enjoy these books and I’m looking forward to getting my hands on a copy of Wish You Were Eyre.

Look, it’s a grown up book! Raise your hand if you have never heard of the Spellman Files series. Okay, all of you people who raised your hands, need to head to the bookstore or Amazon or your Kindles / Nooks and get yourself a copy immediately. I absolutely adore this series about a family of private investigators who have seriously no concept of privacy at all. These are terrifically funny but also endearing reads with a pretty fantastic attention to detail that the nerd in me just absolutely adores. Well, Document #5 ended on a few plot upsets and I’m very eager to find out where the series will be going from here. The Last Word is the latest book in this series and I for one am very anxious to read it.

I am nearly finished reading The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen and just read the big Ah Ha development in the book. I can already tell that I will need to get my hands on book two, The Runaway King pronto. This is a middle reader fantasy series that will eventually be a trilogy. This one should appeal to guys and gals which is always nice. I’m planning to hand it over to my husband who occasionally dabbles in my middle reader / YA fantasy reads also.
Source: amazon.com via Jennifer on Pinterest

Those are all the Big & Exciting books on my horizon that are from a series. The next series that I have my eye on (yes, seriously, there is room on my wishlist for another series already) is:

The Selection by Kiera Cass

“For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.”

What books are you reading right now? Any awesome series recommendations?

What do YOU think? Leave me a comment below.

