My Thoughts On Idol’s Sudden Death: Round One


Source: americanidol.com via Jennifer on Pinterest

Last night began American Idol‘s new Sudden Death round in Vegas. Each night, for the next four episodes, ten contestants from the Top 40 will perform for the judges and five of those ten will be eliminated. There were some amazing performances last night as ten of the Top 20 girls put it all on the table for the judges.

My three favorites of the night were Kree Harrison (above) who gave such an effortless and beautiful performance of Patty Griffin’s “Up to the Mountain” that reminds me of what a true artist sounds like; Angela Miller continues to impress with a performance that was good, though perhaps not as amazing as her performance at the end of Hollywood Week; and Adriana Latonio (below) who is being marketed as the first ever Alaskan contestant on Idol but she doesn’t need a superlative like that to make her impressive, all five feet of her.


Source: americanidol.com via Jennifer on Pinterest

The other two contestants that made it through Sudden Death were Amber Holcombe who performed “My Funny Valentine” at the end of the episode. The judges were all kinds of blown away by Amber’s performance. I thought that she hit some notes that were just out of this world good, but the rest of it was just okay for me. According to the judges, this is because she shows control but for now I remain intrigued but by no means blown away yet. Lastly, Tenna Torres AKA Mariah Carey’s Biggest Fan Ever. Torres was basically sobbing through the entire evaluation and the judges praised her heartfelt and emotional performance. I think we’ll just have to agree to disagree on this one, but she could surprise me in the coming week’s. We’ll see – she’s in America’s hands now.

Disappoints for me tonight included Shubha Vedula who has the most fantastic name ever and delivered a really interesting rendition of Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way” which I agree had a lot going on, but can you really blame her for showing everything she had inside of her? I think she was insanely talented and definitely deserved another shot. Jenny Beth Willis was also very good. Perhaps not quite up to par with my Top 3 but still very good.

Those are my thoughts so far on this new Sudden Death Round. Tonight ten of the Top 20 boys will be performing. Will you be tuning in?

What do YOU think? Leave me a comment below.

