Cannot say enough good things about my Samsung Galaxy SII

samsung galaxy S2

I recently upgraded to the Samsung Galaxy SII cell phone and just cannot sing it’s praises highly enough. Coming from my old HTC Desire, I am truly amazed at this little phone’s capabilities. Boasting a 4.52″ Super AMOLED Plus Touchscreen, an 8 MP camera with LED Flash and a 2 MP front-facing camera for taking self portraits or video chatting with friends and family, 16 GB of Internal Memory and an expansion slot where you can put in another SD card for even more storage – this phone is fast, slick and powerful. It’s replaced my GPS, my point and shoot camera, my video camera, my pen & paper grocery list and more!

The Basics

  • AndroidTM 2.3 (Gingerbread)
  • 4.52″ Super AMOLED Plus Touchscreen
  • 1.2 GHz Dual Core Processor
  • 8 MP Camera with LED Flash
  • Wi-Fi Capable
  • 3G Capable
  • 2 MP Front-facing Camera
  • Full HTML Browser with Adobe Flash support
  • 16GB of Internal Memory
  • Access to thousands of apps through Google Play

Technical Specifications

  • E911 Ready
  • 3G CDMA 800/1900MHz EvDo Rev A
  • 1.2 GHz Dual Core Processor
  • Talk Time: up to 8 hours*
  • Standby Time: up to 12.5 days*
  • Battery: 1800mAh Lithium-ion
  • Dimensions: 5.11″ x 2.74″ x 0.38″
  • Weight: approximately 4.55 ounces

I’ve had the phone for a few weeks now and I’m blown away by the beautiful pictures it can take. With scene settings for things like fireworks, action shots or sunsets – it can take some amazing shots with very little fiddling and figuring things out. It even allows you to adjust the shooting mode, exposure values, resolution, white balance and more! I find myself picking up my large DSL less and less these days when snapshots with my cell phone are so easy and the quality is so good – FAR better than my Desire’s camera which I’d always considered pretty good!

The Amen of nature is always a flower. - Oliver Wendell Holmes  on 365 Project

a picture taken with my Samsung Galaxy SII

Before settling on the Galaxy 2, I briefly used the Samsung Aviator which has less internal memory but offered 4G LTE and still lots more memory than my old Desire. However I found the phone to be a bit slow loading from one app to another and the GPS was very flaky. The Galaxy 2 has none of these issues. It runs quickly, has tons of storage space and the GPS seems to work as flawlessly as you would expect it to.

No more sighing and muttering and constantly having to make room for new apps (or simply miss out on larger apps like the Weight Watchers Mobile App which I could never manage to fit onto my Desire). Now I’ve got the WW Mobile App, their barcode scanner, some fun new games just because and more – and I’m nowhere near running out of room.

In short, I am thrilled with my new phone and if you are in the market for a fantastic Android cellphone, I definitely recommend the Samsung Galaxy SII.

What do YOU think? Leave me a comment below.

