Music Review: Adele’s 21

adele's 21I have been a fan of Adele’s music for awhile now (like every other woman out there with a soul and a heart beat) and I’d had her album, 21, in my Amazon Wishlist for a long time. On Mother’s Day this year, I finally got my hands on a copy (thanks, sweetie!) and we’ve been inseparable ever since.

Obviously my favorite songs on the album, initially, were the ones I was already familiar with, having heard them repeatedly on the radio, Glee and SNL. I puffy hearts adore “Rolling in the Deep,” “Rumor Has It,” “Someone Like You” and “Set Fire To The Rain,” obvy. After so many radio hits that I was into, I assumed the rest of the album would be solid gold.

At first, I was disappointed. I didn’t have that immediate crush on the rest of the album that I have on those first five songs. But I had a feeling it was because I didn’t really know them yet. I couldn’t sing along passionately and confidently with the windows rolled down while driving my daughter to preschool classes and play dates. Yet.

I listened a few more times, flipping the CD on in my car or playing the ripped copy on my computer. I turned on some songs on my phone while playing in the kitchen and I gradually began to fall in love with the non-radio songs from 21, too.

Turning Tables, He Won’t Go, Lovesong, Don’t You Remember… and okay, basically the whole CD. Listen to it a couple of times and I’m pretty sure it will become your new favorite album, too. John Mayer and I are briefly on the outs because his last album has been moved to second spot for awhile as Adele and I are having a little moment together (although John might be back in the running when his new album comes out).

I tend to listen to my favorite albums obsessively – playing them on repeat for months at a time until they start skipping or my husband starts giving me the stink eye – whichever happens first. Adele’s 21 is likely to get several good months of constant play, maybe more. It’s quickly becoming the soundtrack to my life – and if you haven’t gotten yourself a copy yet, trust me when I say, you need to get on that!

What do YOU think? Leave me a comment below.

