Book Review: The Spellmans Strike Again by Lisa Lutz

The Spellmans Strike Again (Spellman Series, #4)Grade: A

I can’t remember what first inspired me to pick up The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz (now available in paperback!), way back when. I’m sure it had something to do with the funny book cover, as all the Spellman books are known for their funny covers that make you look twice. Lutz is a master of the little details and she thinks of everything, making the entire reading experience a thrill – from clever footnotes to textured book jackets – every inch of these books are a masterpiece.

Regardless of how I first came to pick up this series, here I am four books later and I think I can safely say that I am absolutely infatuated with Lutz’ series about a family of private detectives and all the hilarity that ensues when no one in your family seems to understand things like privacy but they are all immaculately versed in things like blackmail, espionage and cracking a mystery wide open. And when you’re curious, everything is a mystery.

I was recently lucky enough to receive a review copy of the latest Spellmans book, The Spellmans Strike Again, and I have to say it might be the best one yet. It was everything I hoped for and then some, the writing style as fresh and witty as ever – with yet another assortment of mysteries to sort out. I loved the Free Schmidt! storyline and so much more that I don’t want to mention for fear of spoiling something for anyone.

I honestly don’t think you can find another series of books quite like the Spellman books and I’d highly recommend them to anyone. Whether it’s romance, family drama or work troubles – there is something here that anyone can relate to and laugh with – but at the same time, it’s so original and compelling.

Let me just say: Read this series. NOW.

Can’t get enough of the Spellmans and Lisa Lutz? Check out her website and become a fan on Facebook!

What do YOU think? Leave me a comment below.

